February 02, 2021

postcss

Recently, to my chagrin, I realised my 11ty-blog-starter imports Tailwind but through the use of CDN stylesheet. I was wondering for minutes why my changes in the tailwind.config.js were not effected, because it wasn't even wired up in the first place.

So I looked up some websites to find out how to do so. One of the most popular ways is through the use of postcss.

What is postcss

According to its website, it tis a tool to transform css with js. Equipped with autoprefixer package, it allows you to add vendor prefixes easily.

Tailwind can be installed as a PostCSS Plugin.

// postcss.config.js module.exports = { plugins: [ require(`tailwindcss`)(`./tailwind.config.js`), require(`autoprefixer`), ], };

Add the tailwind imports in your styles.

// styles.css @tailwind base; @tailwind components; @tailwind utilities;

And then run postcss to generate the output file.

postcss ./styles.css --o _site/assets/styles/tailwind.css

It was a simple, no-fuss solution. I can't believe I loaded it over CDN and then branded it as 11ty-Tailwind. I'm so embarrassed.

Good thing I fixed it yesterday, added a bunch of other things like

  • Tailwind Typography (prose styling for markdown)
  • Tailwind Dark Mode
  • Updated some styling

Shameless plug

Check out my 11ty-blog-starter template and its source code.

Read More: